solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

PROTESTS. SATURDAY AND SUNDAY. LOTS OF THEM. SHOW UP.

Here’s a bunch on the Washington State wet side. All over the place, and I do mean all over. Like Tulalip, and Sequim. Don’t get me wrong, I like Sequim, but it is not a big place. Here’s the list. All kinds of times, all kinds of places.

Sundays are further down but this list isn’t in good date order, idk why. So keep scrolling.

I’m sure wherever you are has some too. Pick one and get out there.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

POLLS ARE CLOSED, thank you for voting! Original post below.

You can still drop off your ballot at a ballot dropoff box until 8pm. Not later! But until 8pm Cascadian/Pacific.

California, I don’t know how your elections work but I do know that your voting also goes until 8pm your time.

There’s important questions on this ballot, even in an off year, both up here and in California. You probably know the ones. And you’ve got time.

Get going. RIGHT now. You can still make it!

Go!

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

HEY IF YOU’RE IN NORTHSHORE AND CAN VOTE – vote FOR Kimberlee Kelly and vote FOR Sandy R. Hayes for school board!

Their opponents are people who were either low-key or openly anti-trans in the primary and they’ve both gone SUPER-high-key anti-trans in the general. This is how it always works and is why we always have to pay attention to “unimportant” races in the primaries:

Results page from the primary election back in August showing 35.83% turnout, a Christian Nationalist coming in third for school board in position 1, a low-key anti-trans candidate coming in second in position 4, and an overtly anti-trans candidate finishing second in position 5. In all races, there were three candidates, ignoring write-in votes.

So anyway, since people don’t pay attention enough in primaries, we have this shit.

Vote FOR Kimberlee Kelly and vote FOR Sandy R. Hayes, because their opponents are haters and shitheels.

(You can also vote for Carson Sanderson. Arun Sharma – who also seemed fine even if I voted Carson – dropped out after ballots were printed, and then endorsed Carson too.)

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

I’ve been calling for people to post pictures, video, whatever, of their towns when Herr Fuckface describes them as war zones, as hellholes, as whatever he pukes up this time. Particularly Chicago, and now, extra particularly Portland. But any blue city or state he lies about.

Post the truth.

On Wednesday night, Jimmy Kimmel requested people do that too, using the hashtag #ShowMeYourHellhole. They’ll look for and highlight some of those videos and contact you if they want to use it, so only use it on video you specifically want seen by as many people as possible.

Post your reality; use the hashtag to help other people see it, if you’re okay with the one in a million shot that they ask you to let them use it on Kimmel.

In reality, of course, they’ll mostly be checking YouTube and maybe other corporate social media, not cooperative spaces like the Federation. But he’s famous enough that if he calls for a hashtag, a lot of people will use it, and in this case, that’s no bad thing.

So – Portland. Chicago. Los Angeles. Memphis. DC. You in particular, but not just you…

…mods are asleep. Post your reality.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: our bike hill girl standing back to the camera facing her bike, which spans the image (biking)

Greater Northshore Bike Connector Map 2.0.4 – 3 October 2025 – is now available on github, as is MEGAMAP 2.0.4.

There are major additions in Seattle with the opening of two south Seattle routes (SODO to Georgetown, Georgetown most of the way to South Park), but the big alert is that the Central Kirkland Connector is closed from NE 68th to 108th Ave NE for emergency sewer work. This will probably be a two week project. Detours are posted both in person and on this map.

Here’s the complete changes list:

  • WARNING: CKC southern segment closed for emergency sewer repair. Detours are posted.
  • ADDED: SODO to Georgetown connection along 6th Ave S, Alaska, and Airport Way S. This isn’t technically done yet but it is open and people are actively riding it, so I’m adding it.
  • ADDED: Georgetown to South Park connection along Albro, Ellis, and E. Marginal Way, with existing bike lanes on 16th Ave S. More work is pending, via technically separate projects rolling out in early 2026.
  • ADDED: Significant changes to “commonly used” routes in eastern Mountlake Terrace, western Briar, and even a little NE Lake Forest Park as people find ways to the Mountlake Terrace light rail station. Thanks to @MHowell@kolektiva.social on Mastodon for pointing this out, I hadn’t noticed the shift yet.
  • ADDED: More people on bikes means more “commonly used” routes in Bothell worth having on the map, so multiple such routes have been added.
  • REMOVED: Final warning notice on Juanita Drive near Juanita Bay. The housing construction that has been extending into the roadway isn’t 100% complete but it’s close enough, it should be good.
  • REMOVED: The warning notice on the Interbay Trail near Terminal 9. The “bridge over nothing” (or “bridge to nowhere”) which two decades ago went over a driveway is finally gone, much like the driveway, just much much later.
Screen-resolution preview of MEGAMAP 2.0.4.
Screenshot

All permalinks continue to work.

If you enjoy these maps and feel like throwing some change at the tip jar, here’s my patreon. Patreon supports get things like pre-sliced printables of the Greater Northshore, and also the completely-uncompressed MEGAMAP, not that the .jpg has much compression in it because honestly it doesn’t.

Enjoy biking!

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Before things get a lot worse, which it looks like they’re about to do given Trump’s “full force” order and his “anti-fascism is terrorism” executive memo, I need to reiterate:

It’s lies. This shit about Portland? It’s all lies.

The lies about Seattle were lies too. Particularly reviving the old lie that “they” “took over a significant percentage of the city” back in 2020. Remember when I posted a map showing the three blocks and a park that were the entire protest zone? And how it was 0.0something percent of the city? How it was basically the equivalent of a guy and a yappy dog on the corner of a Walmart parking lot, and how on a full map of the city the red rectangle was literally too small to see?

Remember that?

It’s lies about Portland now. I know people in Portland. I know people who are in Portland RIGHT NOW, for the weekend.

It. Is. All. Lies.

If you don’t believe me, believe Tess Vigeland, a Wall Street Journal senior producer who lives in Portland. The Wall Street Journal is not exactly a “left” publication and doesn’t exactly employ “radical leftists.” I quote her here in entirety:

“He is lying. They are lying. They are literally making this shit up. I live four blocks from the ICE facility they say is a “war zone.” I pass it every single day on my way home. There are, on average, maybe 30 protesters who’ve camped out (they have a small grill) and set up tents. Sometimes more show up on the weekend. They use bullhorns to shout invective at the building and it’s been awful for the residents who live across the street and noise laws should be enforced. But the notion that this city of 600,000 people is a war zone is completely laughable. CNN has a photo from September 1st on its story about this that makes it seem like the city is, indeed, under siege (and that’s part of the problem, images that don’t tell a complete story). But the idea that they needed that kind of show of force is insane. Would I like the protesters to go away? As a neighbor, yup. Do they have the right to set up a tent city outside the facility? Probably — but again, it’s annoying. Does Portland have myriad problems that a maddeningly ineffective local government seems unable to solve no matter how much tax money we throw at it? Yup. But does any of it call for federal troops fanning out across the city? Absolutely not. It’s stupid. This is all for show by an authoritarian administration that knows its base will applaud because oooooh lookie a liberal city getting its due. (I have relatives who will applaud this, by the way.) But they’re lying. They’re all LYING.”

Tess Vigeland, The Wall Street Journal

If you don’t believe her? There are plenty of webcams. Here’s Pioneer Square in downtown Portland as I write this right now:

A still image grabbed from the linked webcam of a lightly-populated salmon-coloured stone public square in downtown Portland, Oregon, with a variety of banners up and tables out in early autumn.

I won’t even point you to more webcams. Use DuckDuckGo or something. Find them on your own. It’s easy.

Find any cam you want. Look at them for yourself. Tell any Trumpy relatives you have to do the same thing. Look. See.

They. Are. All. Lying.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Hey NORTHSHORE VOTERS!

If you’re in the Northshore School District voting area, please be aware there are two school district elections, and each of those elections includes an anti-trans candidate you need to vote against!

One’s relatively quiet about it but if you get to the bottom of their voter pamphlet statement they talk about keeping “fair competition” and keeping girls and boys separate, and if it’s not obvious to you that that’s anti-trans code language, well, it is.

The second anti-trans candidate in the other election is just straight out with it, and by the way, fags in general are evil and and and and.

Vote against both. There are two other candidates you can choose from, pick the one you prefer.

If you don’t usually bother voting for school boards, THIS IS THE TIME TO START VOTING FOR SCHOOL BOARDS.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Today is another Tuesday Tesla Takedown at the Lynnwood (Washington State) Tesla dealership.

4:15 PM • Tesla store – Lynnwood • 17731 Pacific Hwy, Lynnwood, WA 98037

There are several other protests, sign events, and so on today in other locations as well. You can pick your preference.

Tesla Takedown is an endurance run. Please show up to help demonstrate that going in with Trump has long-term consequences.

If you can’t show up today, you can find more actions on different days here.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Today’s Tuesday. There’s a Tuesday protest, Lynnwood, Tesla dealership on 99. 4:15pm TODAY, like usual. As I’m writing, that’s literally an hour and like 20 minutes away.

Yeah I kinda forgot too lol, but no reprieves for the fascist.

Let’s get out there~~~

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Seeing the usual In-Love-With-Failure and/or disruptors saying don’t take or post photos.

If you’re saying this: THERE IS MORE THAN ONE KIND OF PROTEST.

Don’t take photos at a direction action were laws may be violated, of course. But this isn’t that kind of protest. This is a LOUD AND VISIBLE protest, where showing massive numbers is the entire point, and having lots of sources posting massive numbers is more critical than ever.

A flood of sources is important, because the more A.I.-generated images are used to flood the zone, the more many sources of photographs matter. We have to out-flood their flood.

Now, if you are taking photos, don’t take close-ups without permission! That’s always true. But I advise that you DO take and post WIDE AREA PHOTOS which INCLUDE PEOPLE WHO COULD FIT IN AT A MAGA RALLY.

Middle-aged white men in particular.

MAGAts don’t give a shit until it’s them. If you see someone and think “yeah, they look like they could be someone at a Trump rally,” include them in the shot. That’s what they need to see.

You want to scare Trump, make it look like he’s losing “his people” to opposition rallies in your photographs.

No time to rewrite this better, I’m out the door. See you on the streets.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Today’s the day. It’s not too late to get out there. In Cascadia, most protests haven’t even started yet. If you can’t do the mornings, some protests start late – Lake Forest Park’s protest starts at 4:30 in the afternoon.

So find your local No Kings protest and show up. More different protests are better, not worse; one huge protest is easy to crack down upon; a dozen across the same area is impossible.

All protests right now are important, but today’s is particularly important.

Get out there. Go.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-no-fucking-around)

Find your local No Kings protest and show up. More different protests are better, not worse; one huge protest is easy to crack down upon; a dozen across the same area is impossible.

If you’re new at protests, show up at the Event Attendee Pre-Mobilization Mass Call today, 5pm Cascadian/Pacific, 8pm Eastern.

If you’re military or ex-military or military family, here’s extra information for you – 4pm Cascadian/Pacific, 7pm Eastern.

Turn out. Show up. Be there.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Pretty good turnout in Bothell, counter had over 600 which is a good number given the rain in the morning and the unavoidable timing against Easter. It’s not what we had two weeks ago, but again, conflicts and worse conditions. Still a bit larger than the 2018-era protests, so I’d call that another win.

There were still people on the far downtown bridge, too. There were just gaps in the crowd between us and them.

I’d post pics but I totally forgot my phone, oops. And I actually did, not “lol no phone oops” did.

There was one (1) counter-protestor/heckler on the ground; he didn’t like my “NO KINGS” signs at all and started ranting about how Biden was the real “king” they got rid of. He didn’t have a sign himself and stayed pretty far back; I came across him accidentally while walking around testing our FRS radio range.

(As an aside: FRS handheld radios are f’real, team. Consider getting some and getting practice with them. No license needed, they’re channelised so can’t be used against you as “police scanners,” the range is shockingly good, and even with prices going up they’re super affordable. Ignore the only review on that Best Buy link; those are the exact model we bought. If you want to spend a little more you can get the T30 version, which has a headset and I think is rechargeable, but is otherwise pretty much the same radio and only comes in black. We specifically wanted replaceable batteries for extended-blackout reasons. Just remember: they are NOT private. Just relatively obscure.)

As with every other protest here, we had overwhelming support from the vehicle crowd. Hundreds to one in favour, easily, just like in person. I even got support from a presumably embarrassed Tesla driver.

I don’t know if there were more Bothell PD out this time, or if it just felt like there were. Might’ve been a difference in crowd to cop ratio, might’ve just been the escalating situation, might’ve just been where they were standing. But I wasn’t the only one who noticed.

Keep on your toes. Even here, the cops are Trump’s friends.

Anyway, that’s it for this week’s report, I hope your protests went well. Remember to save the date for May 1st, and to turn out at your local Tesla Takedown or similar before then, too. Momentum is everything, and we need to keep it.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Here’s a page with a bunch of Hands Off!-specific protest signs for this weekend. If you don’t have one you can print those and paste them onto foamcore or similar to have some signs to carry around.

Signs are good, I recommend them.

Here are a couple I made – I was thinking I might just use one of the two I already had, but the ones that weren’t super-specific to Musk are kinda small, so. Honestly they’re not really my best work, but if you don’t like the Hands Off! ones you might give them a look. I do like the Trump-as-Disney’s-Prince-John cartoon, I must say.

If you haven’t found a protest near you yet, here’s where you can find them. Go to the web site, find a protest – and for the gods’ sakes, show up.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

Okay! So! Tesla Takedown Day, March 29th, as it happened in Lynnwood.

It went pretty well. I’m not good at estimating crowd sizes; I thought it was around 300, but it turns out they did a more formal count and it was more like 425. That’s funny, given the location and area code, but also pretty dang good for south Snohomish county.

Drivers going by honked a LOT of support. The counter-crowd was functionally nonexistent – we had a couple of drive-by finger-throwers and swearers, but I only saw one (1) MAGAt hat. I didn’t really know what to expect, but I do think I expected a little more than that.

There was also one fash hanger-on littleman doing a livestream while walking down the sidewalk through the crowd. I think he only did one run-through – I can’t be sure, but I didn’t spot him a second time, and I was looking. He had a couple of his buds trailing behind him, maybe as bodyguards? They weren’t talking, though.

Littleman himself was going off to his audience of maybe tens about how “pathetic” all these people were with “nothing better to do” on a Saturday afternoon. I really wish I’d turned around and gone into my “aren’t you so pathetic! what a good li’l booklicker! <3” doggie voice before delivering commentary about how if protesting is pathetic showing up to cover a protest must be a whole ‘nother world of pathetic but alas, I didn’t.

There’s always next time.

But yeah, even in Snohomish County, the people going by were overwhelmingly on our side. Overwhelmingly, and enthusiastically. Which isn’t that surprising but is good to have confirmed.

Cascadia Strong, team.

Hm, what else? I’ve got a few other notes:

The GMC dealership next door to the Fashhaus had to set up traffic monitors, because the crowd on sidewalks meant they couldn’t see the road on the way out. We weren’t blocking the driveway at all, we just blocked the view by being there. They weren’t mad – after all, we weren’t protesting them.

Lots of people wanted photos of my sign – both sides, specifically. I think I want to change “DO NOT” on the “DO NOT BUY CARS FROM NAZI ASSHOLES” to “DON’T” though, because:

DON’T buy
CARS from
NA-zi
ASS-holes

…is a good chant rhythm. Repeat the set three times, then “Don’t! Buy! their CARS!” over the same beat count, and you’ve got a nice little bit going, I think.

One of the few pro-Tesla cretins who did show up drove by the crowd a couple of times in their Incel Camino with a big I <3 ELON sign, but I couldn’t help but notice that they’d debadged the skip truck. No Tesla logo to be seen.

Hilarious.

We had a couple of T-Rex brigade people show up, that’s always fun. I also managed to completely miss that other people I know where there. From talking with them on Monsterdon afterwards, I literally walked by them multiple times and didn’t notice. But, well, I suppose that wasn’t the point.

Anyway, all in all, two hours, overwhelming enough support to help a bit with the ol’ morale, plus the weather held and we biked there so got in some good exercise. Not a bad day.

Next major event up are the Hands Off!/All Out protests on the 5th. I’ll have a post up about it on Monday; find your local and show up. It won’t be specifically Elon Musk this time, it’ll be about the whole Trump administration, and these have to keep happening and keep getting bigger.

See you on Saturday, I hope.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

solarbird: (korra-on-the-air)

okay Cascadia and Washington State in particular let’s go

A Washington State activist & Indivisible member was detained by ICE – here’s how to help

From Indivisible National and Indivisible Skagit:

“Alfredo (Lelo) Juarez, a well-known and well-loved activist and member of Indivisible Skagit, was violently taken By I.C.E [on March 25]. It is widely believed that it was a targeted attack on Farmworker leadership. You can find more information about Lelo and how to help on the Community to Community Development Facebook Page.

Now that he has been moved to the NW Detention Center in Tacoma, the only way he will be released is if our elected officials step in. Please call your elected officials and demand that they intervene and take action to get him out.

Here’s everything you need including what you can say and who to call, with their numbers.

The Feds will send you straight to voicemail. At least so far. Leave the message anyway.

And don’t forget – tomorrow is Tesla Takedown day. Get out there, show your strength.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
1516171819 20 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Syndicate

RSS Atom