solarbird: (molly-content)
[personal profile] solarbird
Last week's sad, pathetic tokens: 0.5
Sunday's miles: 3.0
Miles out of Hobbiton: 819.3
Miles out of Rivendell: 359.5
Miles to Lothlórien: 106.9

This story on Americans griping about gas prices while buying new SUVs shows that Americans have no actual interest in backing off gasoline consumption.

The key to this isn't absolute gasoline price; it's in percentage of income, I think. The article quotes a J.D. Power analyst as saying, "Prices have to get to $4 and maybe even higher—and stay there for at least a year—before we'll see a substantial shift in what we drive." Given, according to the article, that 4.5% of household budgets to go fuels and in the last major fuels crisis - the one that actually caused a behavioural shift - that number reached nine percent, I think the target price is pretty clear. At $6/gallon, sustained, or somewhere around $140/barrel, you'll start to see a shift in consumer choices. Alternatively, real incomes could drop significantly, achieving the same effect.1

Again quoting the article, "today's cars average 12,190 miles on the road annually, up 24 percent from 1980, according to federal statistics." That doesn't include the fact that average car ownership count per person has risen as well - about 15% since 1980 - indicating that car miles driven per person is actually up an astounding 42.6%, rather than 24%, a more meaningful number than miles driven per car.

Looked at another way - at per-household rather than per-person - the average household had 1.66 cars as of 2000, whereas the 1980 number was 1.56, a 6.3% rise in average vehicles per household. Since the number of miles driven per vehicle is up 24%, and the number of vehicles per household is up just over 6.3%, we also know that the per-household increase is about 32% - or, that households are driving around 20,235 miles per year against 1980's 15,336 miles/year, an addition of close to 5,000 miles per year.2

And people wonder why there's an obesity epidemic amoungst children.

So. Anyone looking for a behavioural change now has some ideas about when they can expect to see it: at $140/barrel oil, or $6/gallon gasoline. But, all other things equal, not very much before.

1This is complicated by the fact that the Baby Boomers are pretty much at their peak earning potential, and are rolling in dough. So as their incomes are dragging the average up. And since their incomes are high, their choices are made accordingly. These two factors may cancel each other out, but it's hard to tell. Historically, being at this age, they'd be low on debt and high on savings - but the Boomers haven't saved much of anything for retirement. The number of factors this complicates make meaningful predictions (in this, and many, many other matters) difficult, so I'm sticking with the raw numbers.

2Interestingly to me only, this more than two and a half times as much driving as Anna and I do every year, meaning that our percentage of budget spent on gasoline should be around 1.8%, against the national average of 4.5%. Our total driving is only 1.6 times the increase per family since 1980, and extrapolating backwards using numbers I don't have all of (and estimating conservatively), is roughly equal to the increase in driving since 1970, per household. At $3.24/gallon, which is what I measured in North Seattle last Tuesday, I would predict that we'd spend about $864 a year on gasoline.

Date: 2006-05-15 05:52 pm (UTC)
clauclauclaudia: (Default)
From: [personal profile] clauclauclaudia
Any idea how commercial/industrial vehicles fit into the mix? How has their fuel consumption changed?

I mean, I don't *personally* use fuel at all. But not only do I get rides from [livejournal.com profile] rmd, cab rides, and so forth, I also am an urban dweller so all my food has to come to *me* from somewhere or other.

Date: 2006-05-15 06:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] brombear.livejournal.com
I wonder if anyone's looked at the auto market these days. Minivans have been touted as being bland, and thanks to some models, having a lifespan of about a decade, as it's a larger body on a car chassis for the most part. Then you compare it to an SUV...which have the stigmatism of being more rugged, better equipped, and slightly cheaper than a Minivan.

Not too sure of this,as I'm thinking with a fever...

Date: 2006-05-16 02:45 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] sarakate.livejournal.com
I'm not sure that minivans vs. SUVs are a worthwhile exploration; most of the minivans don't get substantially better mileage than the big SUVs, and most of the little SUVs can beat them soundly.

Date: 2006-05-15 06:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mattsnaps.livejournal.com
I've decided to become a part-time bike commuter when I change jobs next month. Due to a big hill between me and my new employer, the new commute will actually be worse than my current commute is for a bike, but hey, why not stack up the big life changes, right? So I've been reading up, and it seems like there are a whole lot of factors stacked in favor of car commuting in this country. Cheap gas is a big one, but not the only one.

While I agree with you that Americans drive too much, a lot of the extra mileage just comes from people living farther away from their jobs, either by choice (to live in lower-density areas e.g.) or because people can't afford to live near their jobs.

This all comes back to a combination of bad public transportation, unwillingness of people to bicycle commute, and the cultural stuff you sort of write about here.

Sure, the standard "Dutch bike" commuter bike works in Holland, because (a) people live no more than a couple miles from their work, (b) the country is flat as a proverbial pancake. And, yes, I'll grant you that (c) gas is probably $7 a gallon there and (d) owning a car is probably frightfully expensive in general.

Date: 2006-05-15 08:57 pm (UTC)
ext_24913: (Default)
From: [identity profile] cow.livejournal.com
I'm wanting to get (another) bike (that hopefully won't get stolen, since I don't live at the UW anymore) for a while; planning to do so in June, when I'll have the money.

But it's kind of frustrating--there's one part of my bike commute that I can't figure out how to do, because biking on roads like Aurora is Just Right Out.

And Seattle's better than most cities in America for this sort of thing . . .

(not to mention the fact that the UW encourages alternate transportation, but then doesn't provide sufficient bike racks/lockers/etc. in the places where people take them seriously...)

Date: 2006-05-15 11:48 pm (UTC)
ext_24913: (Default)
From: [identity profile] cow.livejournal.com
I'd have to look again, but I really don't remember seeing bike lanes anywhere along Fremont (in the 70/80/90 street range).

It's less crazy than Aurora, but at certain times of day people start driving on it to bypass Aurora, and then it gets nuts. Plus, parked cars and lots of idiots.

Date: 2006-05-15 11:49 pm (UTC)
ext_24913: (Default)
From: [identity profile] cow.livejournal.com
Aha, according to the first couple of links, it's just "signed bicycle routes" from 110th to 50th--which, for this area, means "compete with cars and get run over by SUV drivers".

Date: 2006-05-15 08:31 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mattsnaps.livejournal.com
That's pretty bitchen. I have been wanting some kind of route planning doodad on google maps for a while. Too lazy to write one, of course :)

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
1516171819 20 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags