Mar. 25th, 2026

solarbird: (pingsearch)

I haven’t seen as much coverage as this as I’d’ve expected, but the MAGA FCC dropped a ban on new imported consumer-grade network routers late Monday by adding them as a class of device to the “supply chain risk” list. Maybe Ubiquiti? But they’re mostly business focused, and I can’t find where they’re made anyway.

You know your wifi box? That’s a router. If you have wired networking, you probably know that you have a router already.

I’m pretty sure banning new models of imported consumer-grade routers means banning all new models, since I don’t think anybody produces consumer-grade kit domestically.

Existing already-approved models can still be imported, as well as sold, according to the fact sheet. So it’s not that all routers are going to vanish off shelves tonight. But new models will need special approval.

It’s that feeling when you hope this is just a shakedown for more payoffs, right? When that’s the good option? That’s where we fucking are.

I guess somebody looked around and said “GPUs are impossibly expensive, memory’s impossibly expensive, storage is through the roof – but networking’s still cheap. LET’S FIX THAT”

jesus hopping christ can we have one day not completely trainwrecked by these goddamn clowns

Here, have the FCC statements. Honestly I don’t know what else to add. In any other situation, I’d just say this is some sort of trade bargaining chip, and in this situation I’m just hoping it’s a shakedown. But given that the shitstain’s role model, Vladimir Putin, has been pushing hard against internet functionality in general in Russia, I’m honestly wondering if this is groundwork for some sort of slow-build network communications shutdown.

And if you missed Putin’s actions in Russia – the west is mostly reporting it as actions against individual apps like Telegram, but it’s much more broad than that, and has included anti-Internet propaganda, complete with Sovietesque children’s musical numbers on television, singing about how “we don’t need the Internet.”

Fascist regimes always want control of communications, and, well, MAGA are fascist, so… is this part of that push? I have no way of knowing. But while I’m not saying definitely buy some spare equipment, you could definitely consider buying some spare equipment.

It might come in handy.

Posted via Solarbird{y|z|yz}, Collected.

March 2026

S M T W T F S
1234567
89 1011121314
1516171819 20 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags